Black Bean Burgers – a few weeks late – ok more like a month

Well I really dropped the ball on updating this guy, huh? I have no excuse really. I did keep up with my recipes though, so I’m going to try to get caught up on them (along with a few other things) this week. For starters…

A few Fridays ago (okay, like a month ago), I hung out with one of my best friends, Alpa, who happens to be a vegetarian. I had been planning on trying to make some kind of non-meat burger, but I wanted to do it when Alpa was around. For years she would come to our cookouts and we would get some veggie burgers just for her. We used to eat the Morningstar ones in college with all the veggie roommates. I was really skeptical of them at first, but with enough cheese, veggie toppings, and condiments, I quickly became a fan. Since then, I have tried to completely get away from buying prepackaged meals. I get migraines pretty regularly and have been struggling to determine different triggers. A big one for a lot of people is MSG, which is in tons of pre-made food. Plus, I like the idea of knowing everything that is in my food, so I’d rather just cook it on my own.

I looked up a simple black bean burger recipe to test out. I actually used the one on Whole Foods’ website.

Ingredients you’ll need:

  • 1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1/2 yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 cup bread crumbs
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1 tsp. dried basil
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1-2 tbsp. EVOO
  • Hamburger buns
  • Veggies for toppings

The recipe also called for hot sauce, but I decided to just wing it with all of the spices, I’m not a big fan of spicy (much to Alpa’s dismay)! We mashed up the ingredients into patties (it made 6) and cooked them in a skillet. Very simple. I will say that I made these another time since then. I simply threw everything into my food processor and gave it a whirl. The consistency of these was much better than when we mashed them by hand. Either way, it’s a very inexpensive meal that will leave you with plenty of leftovers!

 

My dinner date!

It doesn’t hurt to have one of these to go along with it either:

I need to start cooking some meals that will result in prettier pictures!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

