Some more “belated”s

Ok, I vow to get caught up on these weekly recipes. I swear I cook them all on time, it’s just a matter of reporting about them. So this past week, I wanted to cook something for Valentine’s Day, some kind of treat. I decided to get it done Tuesday so that I could take my treats over to my friends at the JBP. I found this delicious recipe over at Bakerella! Luckily it was pretty quick and easy, because I was strapped for time between work and recording.

Here’s what you’ll need:

Cookies:

  • 1 box red velvet cake mix
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 c. butter, room temperature

Icing:

  • 1/2 c. butter, room temperature
  • 8 oz. cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1 lb. of powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla

I won’t go step by step for this recipe, because Bakerella does a fantastic job of explaining it all. Basically though, you just mix red velvet cake mix, butter, and eggs. It does take a long time to get the mix to the right consistency. When I first added the butter and eggs to the cake mix, I really was doubting that it would cover the mix, but with a little elbow grease, I made it work.

The icing was really easy too. Just combine those ingredients and beat with a hand mixer. Once the cookies have cooled, spread a generous amount and make a sandwich! The guys gobbled these up! Happy belated Valentine’s Day everyone! What did you do to celebrate?

I’m all caught up with recipe posts now, so be ready for a fun one this week to celebrate one of my favorite holidays!

Leave a comment

Filed under Holiday, Recipes

Leave a Reply

