Happy Birthday Dad

Unfortunately, this post is a lot later than I had planned. I don’t know what happened last week, but I did cook. Tuesday, the 8th, would have been my dad’s 59th birthday. My stepmom and I talked last week about all of the “firsts” that occur after a loved-one dies. Thankfully, we’re almost done with all of those firsts, and family will be around for the ones that remain (birthdays and the first anniversary of him passing), so that eases the pain a bit. I knew Dad’s birthday was coming up, but it really kind of snuck up on me and I started the morning feeling a little down. My friend Jamie made a wonderful suggestion. She knew I’ve been doing my weekly recipes, so she suggested I go home and cook one of my dad’s favorite recipes. It was the perfect way to celebrate my dad’s birthday, doing something that he loved to do.

I wasn’t able to cook the meal on his actual birthday, but it gave me more time to plan, so it actually worked out pretty well. I decided to cook his chicken and dumplings recipe and then his strawberry pie for a bonus recipe and dessert! My stepmom sent me his recipes and I made a few slight modifications.

I’ll start with the chicken and dumplings. I decided to scale down the recipe because I didn’t really need to feed an army. I also decided to make my own dumplings instead of buying them from the store. I’d never made dumplings before, so I’m sure my dad would’ve approved of that change.

Here’s what I used:

4 chicken thighs
1 qt. Chicken broth
Salt
Pepper

1 c. Flour
1/2 c. Milk
2 tsp. Baking powder
1/2 tsp. Salt
2 tbsp. Butter

Boil the chicken and pull the meat from the bone. Heat the chicken broth and after a few minutes, add the chicken. Cook on medium while you make your dumplings. Don’t try to also make your pie while this is going on. You’ll end up going insane and might burn a perfectly good pie crust (not that that happened or anything). For the dumplings, combine the flour, baking powder, and salt. Cut in the butter (make sure it’s around room temperature). Finally, add the milk until it reaches a doughy consistency. Drop globs into your chicken and broth, they don’t need to be perfectly shaped, they look better with a little bit of character! Simmer for 10-15 minutes and add salt and pepper to taste!

Now for the pie you’ll need:

1 qt. Strawberries
1 baked pie crust
3 c. Heavy cream
1/3 c. Powdered sugar
1 tsp. Vanilla

I decided to make my own whipped cream for the pie, but to be honest, I wish I had just bought a tub of cool whip. So if you do that, forget those last three ingredients.  First, wash and quarter your strawberries. Don’t forget to sample a few as you go along! Sprinkle with a bit of powdered sugar (maybe 1/4 cup) and let them marinate in the fridge for at least an hour. Bake your pie crust as directed. Then combine your whipped cream and strawberries and fill your cooled pie crust.

If you’re making the whipped cream, start by whipping the heavy cream. I was using my hand mixer and really wished I had a stand mixer. I was getting impatient and didn’t want to ruin my chicken and dumplings, but then I remembered hearing about using a food processor to make whipped cream. Ho-ly crap. After standing there with my hand mixer for a good 10 minutes, I broke out the food processor…10 seconds later it was whipped. Add 1/3 c. powdered sugar and tsp. of vanilla and blend well.

Now my problem was that my whipped cream just wasn’t quite right, it tasted good, but it wasn’t completely smooth and it just didn’t look as pretty as store-bought. I also didn’t eat any of the pie until the next day and it had soaked through the bottom of the crust. Overall, the pie was kind of a flop, but I think if I did it a little differently, it would’ve been amazing. I still ate some and it tasted delicious, despite how it looked!

 

Now, embarrassingly enough I forgot to take a picture of the pie when it was done. Oops! Overall, chicken and dumplings were quite successful. The pie…could be improved, but that was my fault. My dad’s was always delicious! I had fun cooking these and trying some things I hadn’t done before. More than anything though, it was really nice to cook foods I knew my dad loved and to just spend a few hours in the kitchen with my dad again.

Dad, I miss you tons, but I’m thankful for the things we have here to keep us connected and celebrating the wonderful father you were. ❤

Leave a comment

Filed under Dad, Recipes

Leave a Reply

