Recipe #4: Going Vegan

I decided to do something a little different this week. Every recipe I had tried so far was a bulk recipe, something I could pack up and take with me for lunches during the week or reheat for dinner. I had plans for dinner most nights this week so I thought maybe I would try baking something instead. Since I was sick for the past two weeks, I feel like I haven’t eaten very well. Soup, soup, and more soup, and while delicious, I just wasn’t getting everything I needed. There were several occasions where I had little more than a cup of hot tea. That counts as a meal right?

So anyway, one of my favorite blogs is a vegan blog, Oh She Glows. While I’m by no means a vegan, I think if anyone could convince me that I would want to be one, it would be Angela. I also knew I could find a fun treat that would be healthy at the same time. I don’t think I’ve ever cooked anything vegan before, so I thought that might be fun too. I decided on her apple pie muffin tops (giggle giggle). I love anything that has apple in it and when I looked at the ingredient list, I only needed to buy one ingredient. Sold!

I also used Evan’s dSLR camera. He just got a new fancy-shmancy one and was nice enough to let me play around with his old one. I’m hoping to get one pretty soon, I’ve only been drooling over them for the last two years or so (oh the woes of a grad student). So the pictures (hopefully) look better than usual. I definitely spent a lot more time than I expected on this recipe because I was playing around with the camera so much.

I have to say this recipe turned out a lot better than my last experience with spelt flour. I made bread a few months ago that no matter how long I cooked it, it was still mushy, doughy, and not done. I also got my first experience with a flax “egg.” I could’ve cheated and used a regular egg, but I wanted to see if the flax egg really was what I had heard. Basically, if you mix water with ground flax, mix it, and let it sit, it’ll turn to the same consistency as an egg!  I’m not going to go through step-by-step because  it wouldn’t be fair (or as good) as Angela’s post, so check out hers. And then check out a few pictures I took:

Nom nom! They turned out to be absolutely delicious. They were just the right amount of sweet and proved to be the perfect afternoon snack. This was a really fun recipe to cook. I like trying healthier substitutes for ingredients. I’ve used applesauce in place of oil before, but this time, the mashed banana was the ingredient replacing the oil. This certainly won’t be the last vegan or vegetarian recipe I’ll cook this year. Part of the reason I made my resolution was to push myself to cook things I wouldn’t have before and to experiment with new ingredients. I’ve given some thought lately to cutting meat out of my diet, but I haven’t made a true decision. Gosh, my Dad would’ve been horrified just to hear me say I was thinking that! If anyone has anything they’d like me to try to cook, let me know! I’m always open to ideas.

At least this resolution is going well, some of my others need some work! More on that later…

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

