Year of the Panda

Happy New Year everyone! Hope you have all had a wonderful first two days of the year. Admittedly 2010 was a pretty rough year for my family and me, so I’m hoping that the new year will change things. I feel like 2011 is a blank slate, I have no idea where I’ll be in a few weeks/months. 2011 might be the year of the Rabbit in China, but I’m declaring it the year of the Panda. Hopefully I’ll have a new job soon, hopefully I’ll still be in DC, but honestly I feel like everything’s up in the air. It’s all been really certain school/career-wise for the past few years, so it feels strange to be job hunting again and really frustrating in this market, but hopefully something will turn up soon.

I’m not usually one to make resolutions. I can’t remember the last time I made one to be honest and I’m pretty sure I’ve never kept one. I vow to be different this year. So I’ve come up with a few that I hope to achieve and hopefully through this blog I can be held accountable:

1. Cook one new recipe a week. During grad school it was really difficult for me to have time to cook like I wanted to or what I wanted to. Now that I have a little more free time, I really hope to expand my cooking knowledge. I have an entire bookcase full of cookbooks, mostly ones that belonged to my dad, and I can’t wait to explore them and find some fun recipes to share with you all.

2. Run 3 races. Gretchen and I ran a 5k this past Thanksgiving and I got bit by the race bug. Since one of her goals is to run an 8k and a 10k, hopefully we can work together on  that goal.

3. Run 400 miles. Just typing that makes me shudder. I don’t think I’ve run 400 miles in my entire life, and I want to run it all in one year?!?! It really doesn’t seem that bad though when I think about it. It’s less than 8 miles a week. Whenever I go out to run, I don’t plan on running less than 2 miles, so I just need to get my ass outside a few days a week.

4. Read 20 books. I thought about this one for awhile. I wasn’t sure what would be a realistic goal for books. I haven’t been able to read for fun in so long. I decided on 20 though. I’m not reading Dr. Seuss after all. I’ll start counting as soon as I finish Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter. I guess I better hurry up and finish it…

5. I think Gretch made this resolution for me, but I will blog more. Now that I don’t have school to blame anymore, I don’t have any excuse and by blogging I can track my other goals, share recipes, write about my running, and review books that I’ve read. Thanks Gretch! Smile

Hope everyone else is looking forward to 2011 as much as I am!

4 Comments

Filed under Blog, Books, Exercise, Recipes

4 responses to “Year of the Panda

  1. Hahahahahaha, yay! You’re so totally welcome for my input that you didn’t actually ask for regarding your resolutions. but I think blogging more is something that is already happening, so hoorah! Some very admirable goals, for sure. We definitely have to look more seriously into these races. Still thinking about that St. Patty’s 8K in addition to that Richmond 10K you found… whew! How is it January 3rd and I already feel like 2011 is coming at me too fast!? 🙂

  2. Amanda, it seems that you and I basically have the same new year’s resolutions! Haha just swap out the cooking for practice photography! We’ll have to keep each other motivated! Hope 2011 has started out well for you! Still sad that you were out of town the one time I conquer my fear of driving to Northern VA!

Leave a Reply

