Times, they are a changin’

Oh my, I have got to get better about blogging regularly. Otherwise, I end up with 5 or 6 things I want to talk about at once. I’ll catch up eventually though. I don’t really have an excuse, I’ve been pretty lazy and kind of in a funk and I’m not sure why, but I’m working on getting out of it. I think a big part of it is this ridiculous heat! I’m really anxious for Fall to start, it always seems to put me in a good mood, so hopefully that will help lift my spirits for good. Admittedly it’s been a very rough summer, so to be where I am now, I feel like that’s pretty good. In general I’m usually a pretty happy person though and I haven’t always been feeling that way lately and when it starts affecting people around me, I know I need to change things.

Matt, me, and Jess

Last weekend, we had friends in town from Colorado. My best friend Jess and my old roommate (and her boyfriend), Matt. I loved having them in town, but in a way it helped fuel my funk (not that I regret them being here for a second!). I arranged for a big group of our friends to meet up Saturday night to hang out while they were visiting and it reminded me so much of the parties at our old house on Oak Street. What memories! I was talking to someone there who asked me if I was sad seeing everyone together again, and I said no, I was really happy to see people and catch up, but afterward I realized that it did make me sad. It took our two friends visiting from Colorado for me to see some of these people who live only 15 or 20 minutes away. I’m sad for friends that aren’t as close as they used to be and how much things have changed over the past year or two. It’s been 4 years since college and things are bound to change I know. People are getting married, having kids, moving; I just miss that tight-knit community that we had.

(I’m realizing this post is going nowhere near where I had intended. I guess I just got really reminiscent. Oops!)

It really was a fun night, I had so much fun catching up with people I hadn’t seen in a while. I loved getting to spend time with Matt and Jess, I hadn’t seen Matt since I was out in Colorado last August, so it was fantastic seeing him and his crazy face again 🙂 I even got to spend an extra day with Jess since she couldn’t get a flight out of Baltimore on Sunday as planned. So as sappy as I got later in the week, it really was an amazing weekend with amazing friends!

To get out of this funk, I think I just need to get out and be more active, but please, Mother Nature, just chill out a bit, because you’re not making me want to go outside. The sooner Fall gets here (and Halloween), the happier I’ll be, not to mention, it’ll be my last semester of grad school! Hooray!!

I’m not sure what I was setting out to accomplish with this post. I guess, first, friends who I don’t see often: let’s change that. I miss you. Let’s grab some dinner, some coffee, go to a museum, anything. Second, this is me saying I vow to be more motivated to not just sit around and do nothing (that should be easier now that I’m done watching Veronica Mars!). I want to get out and be more active, go exploring, exercise, cook…blog! Wish me luck!

Leave a comment

Filed under Friends, Motivation

Leave a Reply

