Grad School is slowly killing me…or maybe it’s the weather.

I’ve been feeling an extreme lack of motivation lately…and when I say lately I mean the last 3 months or so. Maybe that’s what happens when you’ve been in grad school for two years and you’ve already taken all of the “fun” classes. Maybe that happens when you’re juggling school, work, internships, and what little bit of life you can squeeze in after all of that. Maybe it also has something to do with this:

Seriously D.C.? You are not helping me here. When I make it home from the metro, dripping with sweat, the last thing I feel is motivated. I hoped moving to a new apartment and having a new space would give me some new motivation. It didn’t. I got a new desk a few weeks ago…so far that hasn’t helped. I really just need to get through these two papers I need to write and then I’ll be okay. I’m loving my internship, so at least there’s that. I really don’t like to be a downer, I just really need to make it through the next 6 months. Does anyone have any motivational words of wisdom?

6 Comments

Filed under School is the pits

6 responses to “Grad School is slowly killing me…or maybe it’s the weather.

  1. Mike Reed

    So my motivational words of wisdom come courtesy of an “Ad by Google” that pops up when I open this blog post (sneaky Google). Here it is LOL: http://core.braveheartwomen.com/direct/?gclid=CIryq-r016ICFYM65QodLCpZyA Ok i can understand Maya Angelou but KATHY IRELAND???? Are you serious? Oh and btw…don’t even think you can get away with using yahoo without me noticing! I see that Y! in the bottom corner of the pic. But seriously the motivation will come. My strategy on projects without a firm deadline is to set my own deadline and stick to it no matter what…

  2. Steve

    my only advice is to not take classes in the summer

  3. Kathy Page

    Keep your eye on the ball! You will only have to do this once, and it puts you much closer to your goal!

  4. Evo

    travel! everytime i get bogged down I plan a trip and it totally gives you something to look forward to 🙂

  5. hannah

    barrrrf… i haven’t even thought about starting terry’s paper yet and the weather definitely isn’t helping.

  6. jennie

    I totally hear you. I’ve been so drained by the crazy, hectic schedule of the last year that I just want a break! I have to find my second internship, but I’m so unmotivated to want to do anything that will take me back to an insane schedule. I’m enjoying the 8:30 – 5:00 job schedule and wondering if I can put the internship off until Fall…doesn’t really help me graduate though…

Leave a Reply

