Happy 4th Weekend!

For the first time in a long time I have no real plans for the Fourth and I’m actually pretty excited about it. Every weekend lately has been so busy, with either being out of town or having people visiting, that I’m really looking forward to a relaxing weekend. I can get some work done on the apartment and hopefully make a dent on my paper that is due at the end of the month (gross). I’ll be at the beach next weekend (hooray!) and possibly in Richmond/Louisa the next, so I figured a weekend at home would be a good idea. Although, a weekend relaxing in Kathy’s pool sounded mighty nice (but the drive down 95 certainly did not).

It got me thinking about the past few 4th of July celebrations and it really made me miss our old house in Falls Church, the cookouts we used to host, and all of our friends getting together. Maybe it’s just that no one has the space to host anymore (or the desire to clean up after everyone leaves), but I really miss those get-togethers.

My old roommate, Matt, was always the grill-master. He’s out in Colorado now. Miss you Matt!!

We’d usually grill out at our place and hang out for the afternoon and then head towards DC to see the fireworks at night. That year it actually was pouring rain, so most of us just stayed put. Other years, we’ve gone to the Iwo Jima Memorial to watch the fireworks. Maybe I’ll try to do that again this year, especially since I live a lot closer. This was from three years ago I think:

Mike and I might see if we can see fireworks from the roof of his building…or maybe walk closer to Rosslyn. I just want to avoid the crowds as much as possible. Other than that, I’m looking forward to a relaxing weekend around the apartment. I might even try some new recipes. I’m definitely planning on grilling some steaks on the 4th, using my dad’s recipe. I’ll be sure to post that one!

What are you all doing for the 4th? Whatever you do, hope you have fun and stay safe!

1 Comment

Filed under Holiday

One response to “Happy 4th Weekend!

  1. Evo

    all the virginians look so happy! and us MD boyz are thugged out, oops.

Leave a Reply

