Life on the Farm

Another much belated post…don’t act like you’re surprised! Last (last) weekend I took a trip down to Louisa to visit my sister, Twila, and her husband, Andy. They live on a small, but growing, farm and it felt great to get out of the city and relax for a few days! I love spending time at their house, it always feels nice and cozy. I was especially excited because it was the first time I saw her since she found out she is pregnant!!! I’m going to be an aunt in September and I could not be more excited. I took her a little UNC onesie and bib, but came to find out that Andy’s mom had bought them two UNC onesies already! Guess that kid will have no other choice now. Smile We had a pretty chill weekend, watching movies and playing with the animals. Some of my friends up here seemed to be surprised that they have a farm.  Here’s the rundown on animals: 1 pig, 5 adult goats (including a fainting goat!) and 2 little adorable baby goats, lots of chickens, a rabbit or two (I haven’t seen them in awhile, are they still around?). Then inside the house, there are 3 dogs and 3 or 4 cats. I think 3. I’m much more interested in the doggies.

Here’s one:

181976_893100222909_7809361_48348897_1493176_n

I posted that one online and everyone said “ohhh, he’s so cute!” Here he is showing his true colors:

photo (3)

Just kidding, he’s usually pretty sweet, but he gets out of control with the bigger dog sometimes. He also growls when you pet him, but it’s his way of showing he likes it. What a weirdo.

I snagged a few pictures of the goats on Saturday too, but it was feeding time, so they weren’t too interested. Here’s Twila with one of the babies:

apples and twila 031

Here’s Cookie (I call her Cookiepants), the fainting goat:

apples and twila 033

I didn’t get any pictures with Twila and Andy, sadly. I’m headed down there again at the end of the month for a Spring cookout, so I’ll be sure to get some then. Hopefully she’ll be showing a little too.

Be sure to check out their Facebook page. Andy and his dad have been working hard to build a greenhouse and they’re starting to grow all kinds of fun things!

That weekend was just what I needed. We watched a few movies (Due Date was surprisingly hilarious), ate some bbq while listening to some bluegrass bands, and then surprised my stepmom for an early birthday lunch!

Twila and Andy, thanks for letting me hang out for the weekend. I had so much fun spending time with you guys!!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Life on the Farm

  1. BABY GOAT! omg so cute.

    Where’s the picture of BELLA THE SCHNAUZER, hmmmmmmm? It’s like you don’t know me at all. :P

    Looks like you gals had fun! I’m always blown away at the family resemblance between you and Twila.

Leave a Reply

